The USD School of Law Appellate Moot Court Board has traveled to numerous tournaments over several decades. This page serves to highlight some of USD Moot Court’s victories in the championship rounds of those tournaments. While the Board does not always return to the same tournaments each year, those tournaments remain a part of the Board’s rich history of competition and success.

ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition

2008 Regional
1977 Regional: Brandon Becker & Elizabeth Northridge

ACTL National Moot Court Competition

1983 Regional: Sarah L. Bunge, J. Ernesto Grijalva & Seth B. Madnick
1981 Regional

AIPLA Giles Sutherland Rich Moot Court Competition

2002: Todd Drake & Melanie Ronen

Capital University’s National Moot Court Competition in Child Welfare & Adoption Law

2017: Kendra Tovey & Ryan Ramos
2015: Kelsey Hathaway & Keith Van Wagner 

Emory University School of Law Civil Rights and Liberties Moot Court Competition

2014: Jillian Ewan & Bob Schultz

Florida Bar Tax Section National Tax Moot Court Competition


NAPABA Thomas Tang Moot Court Competition

2008 Regional

Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition

2018 Regional: Ryan Cannon & Stephanie Dusso
2000 Regional: Kelly Menck, Brian Fogarty, Stefanie Valentini & Michael Samardzija

1995 Regional: James Swiderski, William Kuebler, Elizabeth Pollock & Joseph Daley
1995 U.S. National Champions: James Swiderski, William Kuebler, Elizabeth Pollock & Joseph Daley

Roger J. Traynor California Moot Court Competition

1994: Dave Bigelow & Kate Flaherty
1975: Kay S. Kuns, J. Wesley Merritt & Judith S. Resnick
1974: Susan Fridenmaker, Jan Gonnerman & Dean A. Link


Vanderbilt University’s National First Amendment Moot Court Competition


*Please contact USD Moot Court if you have information regarding a tournament win that is not displayed here